Leekly Review Album Edition: Night Time, My Time by Sky Ferreira

Maximum alert turkeydogs!

For my last review of the month, I’m going with Night Time, My Time by Sky Ferreira. I was going to go with a classic album for this final one but truthfully I play the album while I write these reviews… and this was what I wanted to listen to. That’s sign enough for me.

Starting into this one, I was again trawling a best albums of the year list and I was expecting from the name some sort of low-rent Keisha. I’m sorry she prefers Kei$ha. Ugh. Kill everyone immediately.

Do not get Kei$ha near your eyes or mouth. If this happens, wash with soapy water and consult a physician.

Night Time, My Time kicks in with “Boys” which unlike the immensely more saucy David Bowie song (“Boys keep swingin” maybe we will David you underfed minx) of the same name has a very strong resemblance to Going to the Chapel of Love by the Dixie Cups.

Incidentally, total choon. Check out the bell work.

There is a little bit of Pink in here, who I’m not particularly keen on, but instead of faux-snarling and over-awareness of putting forward a “character” (in lieu of having some, sniff) she strikes a more balanced mix of moaniness (Meg’s description), assertiveness and apology. Top song for me is probably Ain’t Your Right, the second track, with a brilliant 11 22 drumline in the intro. “If you consider sleeping over, I’ll consider you.” which from the lyrics is either about forgiving cheaters, rapists or just having low standards for men. Could easily be all three.

This wasn’t an album I was expecting to like, much like today I wasn’t expecting to write about it. But so frequently, I sit down in front of my info-cube and this is what I choose to listen to.

If you have any suggestions for something for me to review for next month, don’t be shy, speak up. There’s nothing to be afraid of.

There are some things to be afraid of…

The Toner of Leek

Leave a Reply

